Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco Model 47-1230

I'm just beginning the restoration on this radio and in doing the initial visual inspection I found 2 cloth covered wires that need to be replaced due to fraying, there was a mouse nest in this one. There are only a few cloth covered wires in the whole set and I'm wondering if there is some special reason that this type of wire is used. The 2 wires that need replacing are in section 4 of the schematic, represented by the two squiggly lines, test point C, to a ground lug on the tuning condenser, and to the FM aerial coil L402. Can I use a plastic covered wire in its place?

Other than being 'original' I see no reason to stay with the cloth covered wire. However it may be cloth covered because it was stranded and flexible for the use.

Kind regards,
Terry
http://home.comcast.net/~suptjud/
"Life is simpler when you plow around the stump."

Unfortunately I don't have any cloth covered wire, guess I should try and get some. These two wires come up through the chassis at the back, run across and down into the chassis again near the front, so they are visible.They are stranded as well. I'll hold off for now just in case I stumble across a couple of big spools of vintage cloth wire.

Hi,
You can purchase cloth covered wire stranded or solid from
http://www.radiodaze.com/
You can get caps, tubes and just about anything else you need to restore your radio. Good folks too.

Hope this helps
Terry

A lot more good supplier links on the RESOURCE LINKS page on my site as well.