Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 76 condensor block questions

Hi to all,
Well, I've been working on my 76 and am at a point where I can no longer put of rebuilding the big condensor can! I've never done one of these before and would love any input any body can give! Any tips or tricks or is it just a messy job? My idea is to clean out just enough to make room for the new caps. Any input would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!
Kevin

It's just a messy job. Once you get the bottom off put the rest it in an oven at 275 for 20min or so. This will soften the tar. Take a cork screw or Ihook or something you can grab the innards with. Pull it all out. Clean the rest of the tar out and your ready to rebuild.
Terry

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

Just remember to put a piece of aluminum foil where the crap will drip, do it on a nice day with the windows open, and send your old lady away to shop whilst you do it.

A method that I've used successfully is to turn the can upside down and slowly heat the outside areas with a small Propane Torch. Once softened up from the outside it will just slide out and plop on whatever you have underneath to catch it and the droppings. A heat gun might work OK for this too, but in either case be careful and don't do this around any flammables.

A safer way might be to buy a toaster oven from a thrift store or garage sale and use the basic method that Terry described above. The toaster oven will minimize the risk of domestic violence if your wife gets a whiff of melted tar coming from her oven Icon_wink

edit: just to be clear I'm referring to the large cans that are metal.

John KK4ZLF
Lexington, KY
"illegitimis non carborundum"