Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

philco 610

o.k.,got a philco for you guys,hope you can help,picked this up at the c.h.r.s. swap meet yesterday in san francisco,1936 philco 610,first try nothing, found bad 78 and 75 tubes,checked caps,someone replaced the two 8mfd's with 22mfd's,and the 16 with a 22, let the 22 that replaced the 16 alone but replaced the two others with the correct 8mfd's,fired it up again, tubes now lit,plays somewhat distorted and only near 1140 on a.m. band,picks this station up across a wide section of the a.m. band.the first s.w. band sort of works but seems to be picking up a.m. broadcast and the second s.w. band has dead silence.the cabinet has been restored and looks very nice so i'd like to get this one playing well also,any help is appreciated,please remember i'm a novice so if you can dumb down the tech stuff it would really help,i have a sig generator[knight kg650] so i just need to know settings on it so i can trace the signal also what is used for checking the output?,thanks,phil