Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 40-180 brought back to life... and an introduction...

Hello all,

I'm new to the Phorum and have been enjoying all the great info on here since I picked up a Philco 40-180 console from a garage sale a month ago. As a teen I was really into finding and collecting old broadcast radios. In 1989 I became a HAM operator and eventually gravitated to vintage HAM radio gear in the late 1990's. So...when I ran across an old Philco console radio at the garage sale I only gave it a passing glance. It looked to be in restorable condition, but again, picking up an old console radio really wasn't on my mind so I left it behind.

Its funny how sometimes something like an old radio will call out to you. In this case I got home that day and started thinking about it... and kinda kicking myself for not grabbing it while I had the chance. They were only asking $50.00. I got online and started researching it and found this Phorum. The next day (a Sunday) I went back to get it and the sale was closed and no one was home. I kept my fingers crossed that they would have the sale open the following weekend and kept thinking about it all week. To my relief, they did reopen the following weekend thankfully the radio was still there. After a little negotiating I handed the guy $45.00 and loaded it up!