Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Finishing a Grunow 1081 cabinet

I could really use some advice,
Below are a couple of pictures of a cabinet I've been working on. The top was bad so I had to sand it down. It still had the original stain so I put a few coats of lacquer on it then tried to tone it to get close. As you can see it's way too dark to match the bottom so...would you remove the top finish and try again or tone the bottom to get it closer. I kind of like the darker tone of the top, but it does hide the wood grain. Any advise would be appreciated, I will not be offended by any critiques or comments, I'm still learning. Oh and FYI that is one coat of extra dark Walnut and one coat of perfect brown ( the XD Walnut seemed to give it a redish tone), 3 coats of Semi gloss laquer before the toner and 3 after.

Thanks again,
Glenn

glennpr Wrote:...would you remove the top finish and try again or tone the bottom to get it closer.

Remove it and start again. Don't mess with the bottom, it looks good.

exray Wrote:.......Remove it and start again. Don't mess with the bottom, it looks good.
+1 on that, the bottom of the radio has a beautiful display of veneers.

John KK4ZLF
Lexington, KY
"illegitimis non carborundum"

Thanks Guys,

I'll take the finish off tomorrow.. suggestions on which toner? When I use a walnut it seems to have a red tint to it. I was thinking a light coat of perfect brown.

Glenn