Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

transporting my philco 37-630X

Hello,

I am a newbie to antique radios. I made my first purchase, a Philco 37-630X and plan on picking it up this weekend. Are there any precautions I should take during transportation in my SUV. (ie. Upright, lying down ? Remove anything ie, speaker ? Any or all suggestions appreciated. I'm sure I will have many more questions in the near future.

Thanks to all that participate in the Philco Forum...

Kurt

Make sure that the speaker is secure in the radio. Tighten it down if not. Same for the chassis, make sure it is secure in the cabinet and tighten if it is not. Lay a blanket in the back of your suv and place the radio back side down on the blanket, with the top of the radio facing the front of the suv. You can pull on the blanket to position the radio in your suv and conversely pull on the blanket to slide the radio out.

While the radio is on its back would be a good time to put felt cushions on the bottom of the cabinet. This makes it easier to move your radio on hardwood, vinyl, or tile floors. If you are going to move the radio on a rug, use a towel or blanket under it and pull the towel or blanket to slide it.

Hi Kurt,
Congatulations on your first antique radio! It's a Philco so you are off to a good start! You will have a lot of fun with it I'm sure Icon_thumbup
As for transporting it, keeping it upright would probably be best if you can do it. Of course making sure it's secured so it doesn't tip over! Not having a truck or SUV I've moved almost all of my console sets laying on their backs without any problems. Just make sure the chassis is firmly bolted to the cabinet. I've had several sets where some, if not all of the mounting screws were loose or totally missing! Also, I usually lay some blankets or padding down to cushion the set during transport. Good luck!
Kevin

Yes, welcome to the Phorum. You are in the right place for learning about the hobby!!