Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Grandpa's radio

Newbie here, thrilled to find this forum and I've learned much already in how to go about restoring the chassis of a 42-395 that Grandpa bought so they could listen to the news of WWII. As a kid, I remember listening to the short wave feature and loved the noises the radio itself made (and the smell of the unit), as well as trying to figure out what language people were speaking. From this forum, I've learned what to do before I even plug the radio in (which apparently does not work at this time). And, I've never soldered before so am going to guinea pig some other old electronics just to get the hang of it. The cabinet and bezel are in pretty good condition - I don't want it to look like new. Thank you all for being so willing to share your knowledge and experience! I had no idea that I was interested in this stuff until the old radio came along! Icon_wave

Hi and welcome to the phorum!
We are here to help you with Philco needs.
Terry

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

Welcome to the forum. You will find many folks willing to help you restore your radio to a safe and functional level, and more help for the physical appearence. First off Don't plug it in. Take a few pictures, and post them here, and indicate your skill set, as can you read a schematic and solder. THat would be a help for us to guide you.