Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

My 1st Philco Restoration - 46-350

Hi everyone. I'm a 43 year old programmer in the Bay area and
recently acquired a Philco 46-350 from my folks while visiting
with my wife over Turkey Day.
This radio has been in my family since my Father brought this home to my
Mom sometime in the late 60's.
I remember this radio from my young childhood (tinkered with the tubes).
I have found a great amount of literature on this radio seeming how it
was very popular (think Sony Walkman) and low-cost back then.

I have a large electronics background (military and commercial) but
do not seem to use it much now-a-days. Here is a great
reason to get back into the saddle!
I will post updates occasionally and share although I'm sure
this project pales in comparison to some of the ones I've seen here ;)

Thanks for this great community resource!

Fred Myers

Note from site admin: Sorry, but the photo which was attached to this post is no longer available.

I have restored several of these, and believe me, they stand their own as sensitive AM receivers. You can dig up a free schematic on Nostalgia Air or for a better version visit http://www.philcorepairbench.com/index.htm - well worth the small fee charged.

Now then, you will want to do a wholesale replacement of all the electrolytic (very careful on polarity,)and paper capacitors in the set, and any out of tolerance carbon resistors (I replace 'em all, cheap enough.) If the candohm measures OK and has not any shorts to chassis, leave it in. Looks like you need tubes, none of them are rare or expensive. This forum has a WTB section, and someone may have a set available at a very reasonable cost. I'm tapped out on these at the moment.

The belt handle is usually rotten, and believe it or not, replacements are available, or you can make one out of a, well, belt.