Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

37-623

I am new to Philco Radios and would like more info on a radio I bought. First off, its a 37-623 battery operated unit but I don't have the battery. What kind of battery do I use? Should I try to fire it up or have it cleaned first? Should I restore the cabinet or leave it as is? Is a battery operated unit unusual? Is it valuable? Any info you can provide would be awesome!

I bought this in the hopes of turning it around for a quick buck. After finding out how old it is and thought about what it may have experienced in the last 70 years, I think it's too neat to let go and want to bring it back to life. This radio could have announced Pearl Harbor to an American family! Green Lantern saga's. The Shadow. How cool is that?

Welcome to the world of Philco radios. :-)

DO NOT plug in a 74 year old un-restored radio!!!
You can do irreparable and permanent damage to major components.

Battery sets were common in that era from many radio manufacturers. They were
primarily meant for the rural and farm markets before the Rural Electrification Act of 1936
was enacted to bring commercial a/c power to outlying areas of the country.

See my website (below) for my schematic and service info photocopy service
for your 1937 Philco. Click on the Schematic Info link there.

Regards,
Chuck

Welcome to the Phorum! IIf your radio is a tombstone model, it is a fairly common set. If it is a console (floor model) it's a little less common. BUT they are good sets when working properly. The set has standard broadcast (AM) band and two shortwave bands, and with a good antenna you should be able to pick up many distant stations, especially at night.

Am not sure of the specific requirements for your set, but my Philco 623 model, which was made a year before your's, must have an A battery (2V), a B battery (135V, 67.5V), and a C battery (-3V, -7.5V).