Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Cloth replacing Philco 20.

He guys

I bought some cloth from Radiodaze for my Philco 20 console, this exact model below

http://www.tuberadioland.com/philco20_co..._main.html

When removing the old one (really in poor shape) I've noticed there was no particular thing(s) that would secure it to the wooden frame the speaker bolts to.

Question1: Should I use staples, or something, to secure the cloth first, and then bolt the frame back to the cabinet?
What's the best way of doing it - I have ZERO experience with upholstery, and my hands grow where the legs should grow from, when it comes to cabinetry, upholstery etc. I am a pure electrical guy.
Question2: How do I stretch the cloth? Should I iron it first?
Question3:Should I cut it to size or?

Anything else? If anyone describes the whole procedure, or better yet - if someone has a photoshoot of the process - would be great!

Regards,

Mike

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

Here, this will help:

http://www.grillecloth.com/grillcloth/installation.php

"I just might turn into smoke, but I feel fine"
http://www.russoldradios.com/

Hello Mike:

1. I use glue vice staples. Make sure you test fit before you glue to make sure the glued portions of the grillecloth are not seen. I prefer gluing the grillecloth to the cardboard or plywood "frame" that goes between the speaker and the grillework portion of the cabinet. I use regular wood glue for this.

2. Definitely iron the grillecloth first. I apply glue to the outer perimeter of the "frame" that I mentioned above and then mount the ironed grillecloth to it. I stretch it by gently pulling the grillecloth across the outer edges of the "frame."

3.Yes, cut it to size but I allow extra on each side. Then I iron it, then glue it. I trim the extra off after the glue is dry.