Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 47-1230 Knobs & phono question

Hi , Does anyone have a photo of a 47-1230 close enough to determine what type of knobs are on it ? I recently picked up this console and most of the units I chose it is not all there.No knobs lifted veneer the usual. I 've looked on line for a couple days without much luck for a decent photo.
Also have ask repo sources if they make a replacement without an answer yet.In fairness it has only been a couple days so maybe an answer is coming yet.
This unit has a phono in it . Mine does not even have a arm on it.I think it is a model d-10a .According to what I read it will have a "dynamic cartridge" in it when I find one.The other cartridge this unit is fit with was a crystal cartridge .So I am thinking this may be a choice when rebuilding.Can anyone give me some general direction or information on this phono section ? I have no experience in this area and want it to work .
Should I put a later model philco phono in it's place rather than try to rebuild this one ? Any help or direction is appreciated !

Thanks !
Bill

Hi Bill

I'm currently away from home, so I can't scan the knobs you seek at present. Perhaps someone else will step in and do so...the knobs are unique to 1946-1950-ish models.

There is, or was within the past day or two, a complete changer on eBay that would work well as a replacement for you. As I recall, it had the dynamic reproducer also. The dynamic reproducer can work very well if it has not been tinkered with; their main issue is that owners have tended to force standard steel needles into the reproducer cone, where only a special sapphire stylus is designed to fit, ruining the cone and resulting in distorted sound. If this has happened to one you end up with, try West-Tech or Syl Vanier to get it rebuilt; just be sure and send in the entire head, cover and all; do not attampt to remove the cartridge from the head. Don't ask me how I know...