Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Next project Brand Z 6s229

I am about to start on my next project. The bad news is that someone has been at it before me, and I'm having some trouble deciphering what is going on underneath the chassis as I am pretty new to this. Does anyone have a good photo of the underchassis, either original or recapped correctly? I'm particularly interested in the wiring of the electrolytics.

Here is how it sits now. None of this is my work, and I haven't traced out the replaced caps to make sure they were wired correctly. All values are 22uF @ 450V.

http://i1267.photobucket.com/albums/jj54...6a2764.jpg

http://i1267.photobucket.com/albums/jj54...915944.jpg

The best way to determine if what was changed underneath is correct is to get the schematic and trace the components. Looking at the photos, I'd say that the person who re-capped did a good job soldering and keeping the leads neat. But get the schematic. Joe

Joe

Matthew 16:26 "For what does it profit a man if he gain the whole world, yet lose his own soul?"

One of the biggest mistakes people make when replacing filter capacitors is assuming that B- and the chassis are one and the same, and of course the set doesn't work properly and hums like crazy. In many cases the set will use a fixed bias network with a series of resistors so one filter cap will be slightly more negative then the other, or one will have it's negative side connected directly to the transformer center tap while the other will have it's negative side connect to the chassis.
According to the schematic found here:

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/PagesByModel...025209.pdf