Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

What was the highest frequency bad before the WWII?

Hey guys, A fellow-radio collector from a Russian forum contacted me asking if I could provide infoprmation about the highest possible frequency America radios used before the WWII (those made before the US entered the war I think would be correct interpretation as this was the event that put some radios on hold and then changed some technology once the war had ended).
Let's make it 1939-1942 divide between pre war and 1945 post war.

The exact question is: was there 30MHz or 50MHz band before the WWII?
And when exactly we started using those?

Even more exact: could pre-war radios gop into 50MHz in principle (was the technology available, like proper tubes and such), and where there 30MHz radios before the war?

I am not that good with hostory of the US tube radios, but I am sure many folks here are.

High frequencies were known before WW II in several places. For home radios, FM broadcasting began in 1940, and used the frequencies from 42-50 Megacycles.

Then, television channels picked up after the FM band, and prewar channel 5 became postwar channel 4 (66-72 Magacycles). I'd need to look it up, but there six prewar channels, so the TV spectrum went a tad higher than the old channel 5.

Now, Hallicrafters made two models (actually the same set, cepackaged) the models S-27, and S-36. Both covered from 27 Megacycles to 155 Mc. Both sets had AM or FM reception.

Then, the Halli. S-37 picked up after the S-36, and went all the way to 216 Megacycles, which was the top of old TV channel 13 (210-216 Mc).

Tube technology was the key to high frequency performance. The first 7 pin miniature tubes were beginning to appear just prior to WW II for us, the tubes that made high frequency use possible were the "acorn" tubes: 954, 955, and 956. These were in the front ends of those Hallicrafters sets just mentioned.