Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Tuning on Philco 46-200, 48-200

I have recently had several of my tube radios recapped.

several 42-PT95's a 48-200 and two 46-200.

the 42-PT95's work like a dream and are very easy to tune stations in and have excellent sound.

One of the 46-200 and the 48-200, have a hard time tuning stations in without distortion. It is almost like an oversaturation of the signal. One has to be so precise to tune a station in and the tweek the dial in very small increments. Still even at best there is still distortion.

I though that this might be something unique to the 200's but then one of my other 46-200 behaves like the 42-PT95's and is very easy to tune in the station.

Does anyone know what this is caused by. Is it an oversaturation of signal, or does the tuning need to be adjusted some how.

Please understand that I am an absolute novice, trying to learn. I know there is a way to fine tune, but I don't have any special equipment to do this.

Any help, suggestions etc would definitely be appreciated.

I have done some reading and watched a few youtube videos about IF Alignment.

As stated above, my radio's symptoms are that very strong stations have the audio distorted. Talking sound the best, but is still somewhat distorted, music sounds very bad, unless I move the dial off the strongest signal, and then it sound better but still distorted.

Could this be a problem with regard to the IF bandwidth. In other words perhaps the IF bandwidth is too small and thus the edges/lobes of the signal on both sides are getting clipped and thus the distortion.

Just looking for some possibilities here. Any suggestions would of course be welcome.