Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

PHILCO Font

Does anyone know the name of the font used for the Philco lettering on decals? I know you can buy them at RadioDaze but they don't seem to have the straight ON OFF VOL. ; DIAL TUNING ; and B'DCS'T S.W. that I need for the 42-322 I'm working on. May have to make some up.
Thanks, Bob

http://www.tubesandmore.com/products/S-M907

Would that do? It has everything you mentioned, both straight and curved for knobs. Plus you won't need to worry about actually printing them.

Yep, THANKS! that's the one I need.
Cheers
bob

Hi All,

I was actually wondering about the font for printing on a straight line as well.

I'm new to the phorum and the Philco world (though I used to live not too far from what once used to be THE Philco world in Philadelphia). I'm also new to restoring vintage tube radio/phonos, as I have so far been working on old acoustic phonographs (wind ups) and a 1970's Garrard.

(About time I tried something in the in between decades, historically / technologically speaking, right? Icon_lol )

I have 46-1201 (Bing) and while the lettering is mostly intact, a few parts have worn off. I've yet to see decals for this model in any of the replica parts retailers. The PHONO - OFF - RADIO grouping above the dial is especially hard to find.

Do we know the font at all?

I've painted and replicated waterslide decals (guitar bodies and headstocks) and have the means of getting gold ink printed on decals. (I'm a designer.) I have essentially all the tools and knowledge except for "the font."

Worst case scenario I can try to match it myself but if someone knows, it would be great to share it!

(Matching fonts sounds easy but if you really want a proper match you have to comb through thousands of fonts paying attention to every minor detail).

So if anyone knows the Philco font, or a solution for my 46-1201, your help would be greatly appreciated!