Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Thoughts on Capacitor Testers

I would be interested in hearing from members on their thoughts about capacitor tester instrument.

Do you use them

Is an "inline" tester a must

What brand/model do you recommend (any under $50 ?)

Any other comments are welcome.

I have a 42-PT95 chassis that was repaired by a vendor who did a less than stellar job and the radio plays but has problems. They replaced the capacitors, but some of them looks like they may have used NOS parts [they did this in a different radio that had "problems"]. I have new capacitors that I could use and just replace everything again, but would like to try to isolate which capacitor(s) (if that is what is wrong) might be the culprit.

I am new to the game. I have successfully recapped a Philco 48-200, but other radios I have farmed out for repairs. I am looking for some feedback on the usefulness of a capacitor tester.

I have a capacitive reactance tester on my digital multimeter, but it's of dubious value in testing high voltage electrolytic capacitors as are found in tube radios. It works with a very low DC voltage, so any high voltage leakage won't be detected.

Maybe someone knows of an older type of cap tester that would be better suited. At this point in time though, I'm just going to replace all old caps and any suspected bad newer ones. They aren't terribly expensive.

It's not how bad you mess up, it's how well you can recover.

I have an ancient Eico bridge that can test caps at rated voltage. If I can't reform an electolytic in a couple of minutes, and have to repeat it the next day, it's toast. Wax caps, no, don't bother, replace them.

Modern digital meters that measure capacitance at a couple of volts are useless for this purpose. May indicate approximate range of nominal value if you are otherwise lost and don't have a schematic.