Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Starting on a Model 20

Hello everyone. For about 2 years now I have been following the phorum under the name "guest". I am very impressed with this phorum and the wealth of info and willingness to help others with vintage radios. I'm just getting started on a Model 20a. I wish I could say it is "farm fresh", but it is more like "ridden hard and put down wet!" Sadly, when I found it it was hanging on a garage wall with coathangers punched through the cabinet. I'll have no problem restoring the cabinet, but electronics restoration is another story. I know just enough to be dangerous!! I'm starting off by fabricating new dogbone resistors, and I have a couple of questions. The set has 50k, 100k, 250k, and 500k resistors in it. I was only able to get the 100k as an exact replacement. Will 51k, 240k, and 510k resistors get me close enough? I'm thinking the originals were probably +/- 20%. Also, the originals were I believe 1 watt. Will substituting with 2 watt be any issue? Any and all help is greatly appreciated. I'll apologize now in advance...there will be times where you will have to explain things to me like i'm 5 years old! Please be patient with me and keep me from electrocuting myself! Incidently, the radio itself was my grandparents. About 35 years ago I plugged it in briefly, and it played, but not very well. Has not been out of the packing I put it in since. I'll try to post some photos later. Thanks again.

"Don't pity the dead, pity the living, above all, those living without love."
Professor Albus Dumbledore
Gary - Westland Michigan

2 Watt will be fine.

Pull up the justradios.com site. There are many resistors there that are what you are looking for.

The values you listed are ok. You want to stay within 20%. Personally, I limit that to 10%