Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Hello everyone, new to site.

Hello all,

I am new to this great Philco radio site. Years ago I started my first attempt at collecting tube radios, my jr year in high school to be exact. At that time, I had a nice, original Philco 38-7T table radio and it was fully functional. That was a really cool radio, with exceptional reception. Unfortunately my parents moved to another town and did not have a full basement in the new house, so unfortunately I had to sell my growing collection.

Fast-forward to the present, I just finally found myself another Philco 38-7T needing a cabinet resto. When I first conversed with the seller I was informed that it was un-tested, needed a new cord........the usual things for a radio of this vintage.

Much to my surprise, it made the trek from Pa to Ga but the cabinet top was separating from the rt side. No big deal as there was no damage to the cabinet and wood glue and clamps did the trick.

I paid good money for this one and was I ever surprised when slowly powering the Philco, it worked not only on AM, but also SW! The chances I know were really slim and especially considering that it appears to have original electronic components for the most part.

So I spent about 4 hrs on this cabinet to do a light resto on it. The grille cloth appears to be original fabric along with the knobs ect.

I would have to say that I enjoy some of each of the different brands of tube radios and am partial to Philco, and other brands before 1939.

Glad to be a part of this radio community and really enjoy the vast amounts of valuable info offered by the members,

cheers,

David

Attached Files Image(s)

Hi and welcome to thee Phourm!
I have a similar set it's a 38-22CS. It uses the same chassis but is a transformer-less design. The CS stand for Chair Side looks a bit like a table or a 38-7CS. http://www.philcoradio.com/gallery/1938a.htm#i.
GL
Terry

Thank you for the welcome Terry!