Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

New PHILCO 630

Hello, I am new to the phorum and new to old radios. I collect antique clocks, mostly. I just got a Philco model 630 at a local flea market. It is unrestored and in working condition. I have two questions, to start: is there a safe way to clean the dial without removing the markings? And, is the ground terminal on the chassis used to improve reception or is it a safety feature? My initial reading is that the later "American 5-tube" radios did not have transformers and the metal chassis were therefore part of the electrical circuit. But this Philco appears to have a transformer, and, with no back on the cabinet, can I assume that the chassis is not supposed to be electrically live?

I have posted a picture, and will post more later with questions about the finish (the front panel is excellent and just needs to be cleaned).

Attached Files Image(s)

Hello and welcome!

You can find the proper procedure for cleaning the dial scale here:
http://www.philcoradio.com/phorum/showth...p?tid=1503

Just remember, rub lightly, don't apply pressure.

The chassis is at ground potential. Reception can often be improved by using a ground. If left ungrounded, the set's AC bypass capacitors does impress an AC voltage on the chassis, which is not strong enough to shock you but you will notice a tiny spark if you connect a ground wire to the set's GND terminal when the set is plugged in.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Agree with all said, but do have a look inside to see if a recent restoration has been done, i.e. at very least the filter capacitors. If everything looks original, quite simply it's a time bomb and needs attention before powering up again. Cabinet will come out fine. Best!

Thanks for the replies. The seller said it was straight out of a barn, though he dusted the cabinet and interior. I'll post a picture of the inside later. It sure looks untouched to me. I doubt if I'll try to look under the chassis.