Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

I finished my RCA 5T

I recently finished my RCA 5T. It isn't a Philco, but I really like it. I thought I would share this because, while I am a newbie, I don't want you guys to think I have problems with every radio I get. It was missing the dial cover, had a mismatched knob, bad grill cloth, needed a bit of veneer work, refinishing and I did a chassis overhaul.

Here are before and after pics... (btw-I'm keeping this one.. no matter what the Mrs says Icon_smile) It sure sounds great and I'm very proud of it.

The artist formerly known as Puhpow! 8)

Nice!

I like RCAs in general.
It's a good company and they knew their EE stuff.
No amateurs they were.

I have that same radio that i bought recently from a membero of ARF. Paid $50.00 for it and it's cabinet had already been restored. All that was needed when i received was new filter caps and resistors and a couple of light bullbs. It is very sensitive on AM and seems to pick up shortwave pretty well in the evenings. Definitely a keeper for me. I think you will also like yours as well.

Sincerely

Keith Jansen

It is a cool tombstone, Morzh is right on. RCA made some super sets, and a lot of the middle of the line was very good too. Even later on when everything started to get value engineered some of their stuff was pretty good.

Enjoy it, I have a thing for the lines of this set.

Paul

Tubetalk1

Thanks. It really sounds good and I've been listening to it for about 5 hours a day during the past week. There is an issue with one of the grid caps that I need to get around to fixing, but for now, it's ok.

VERY HAPPY you like the sound on yours. I picked up one of these a short time ago, and wondered about it's performance since it was only a 5 tuber. Glad to read the good reviews of it!