Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco Model 96 Restoration Info

I recently bought a Philco Model 96 Lowboy, which I would like to restore in so far as possible. I can do the cabinet work, it really only needs some careful refinishing. Although the man who sold it to me said it works, I won't turn it on until I replace whatever components are recommended for replacement. I read somewhere the capacitors definitely should be replaced, and that these are in a separate chassis box. I would appreciate any suggestions and guidance offered. I have some experience wiring tube kit amplifiers and building speaker cabinets, I also looked at the Model 96 schematic and understand some of it. I teach machine shop and can make whatever parts I may need, though the cabinet and chassis seem untouched and complete other than one small knob missing. I suspect I can buy a replacement for this though.

As I say above, I'd appreciate any help offered, and would especially appreciate an opportunity to have a knowledgeable person look over the chassis/electronic components. I live in Downeast Maine, though, and may therefore be some distance from others who have experience with old radios, but could drive within reason to meet.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the Phorum! You have come to the right place.

I'm not one of the radio gurus, but I'm always willing to help wherever I can. There are some good folks around here who know tons of stuff and are usually willing to help out with info and advice.

It's not how bad you mess up, it's how well you can recover.