Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

BASIC TEST EQUIPMENT. What do I need?

Hello Guys, tomorrow I have an opportunity to pick up some test equipment from the estate of a deceased radio repairman and collector. Being that I am new to the hobby, I just wanted some input from the experts. I want to be able to do alignments and circuit testing so from what I have gathered through reading I will need a signal generator, signal tracer, variable power supply for the basics. There is an O scope available also. I already have a Hickock TV-7-B/U tube tester and a volt/ohm meter. So what else? I will mainly be restoring 30s thru 50s radios. Thanks for any ideas you can give. Bob

Robert Chesarek
Renfrew, PA

Hello Bob, by all means, the basic vintage-radio repair bench needs a few basics!! If all test-equip is in good working condition, go for the sig-generator, sig-tracer, and the variac!! All 3 are required for this hobby!! Also, if you see a good ol analog Simpson voltmeter, especially a model 260 in the sale, pick that up as well!! All the above test-equip mentioned will provide you the necessary equip to fully enjoy the vintage radio electronic-restorations hobby indeed!! Just make sure ALL the test equip is in fine working conditions, and you will be set for a fine workbench!!! Also, if you can find a "isolation-transformer", those can keep you safe from accidental workbench hi-voltage accidents on the AC/DC live chassis restorations on radios that dont have a AC transformer on the chassis. Randal

I find a capacitor tester comes in handy now and then.

There won't be much of any use for a power supply; I dont' recall having used one in the last 40 years on radios.

A high impedance AC Voltmeter (hp 400 series) are a requirement for peaking IF's accurately.

A frequency counter is essential if your signal generator doesn't have a read-out.