Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average

Starting to refinish my Highboy 90

Started working on this cabinet in earnest this evening. Am posting pics of what I've managed so far.

First, the missing veneer from the top:

The left side, looked pretty ugly to start with. Note the deep scratches.

The cabinet partially stripped and sanded.

These wouldn't go into the last post.

This is the veneer that I have here to work with.

And the only color stain I've been able to get. I use it because it's sort of mid-range for most of the radios I've worked on.

I'm open to all suggestions. As I said, I'm no expert on this part of restoration,and I'd like to do as good a job as I can.

I'm no expert either, but I'm better at refinishing than I am at chassis work. I'll tell you what I do, but other people might do things differently.

Do you have an old, beat up, scrap radio cabinet that you can salvage veneer from? I find that old pieces are easier to work with. If not, no big deal. Cut pieces of veneer to fit into the missing spots. I've used a pencil and paper to make a tracing of the missing area first, then use the pattern to cut the new piece. You want the grain to run in the same direction as on the radio. Try to get an exact fit, if possible. Once you are happy with the new piece, use wood glue and glue it in place. Use a clamp or heavy weight to hold it down if needed. Let it sit for 24 hours..

Once it's dry, trim any overhang, then take a sanding block and some 300 - 400 grit sandpaper and sand the new veneer (with the grain), until it's level with the veneer on the radio. Once you start getting into the old veneer be careful. Don't want to sand through it.

I personally try not to sand the old cabinet any more than necessary. The wood has developed a petina and sanding removes it and can make the final finish look uneven.

The artist formerly known as Puhpow! 8)