Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

My Next Project - Butterfly Radio

I thought I would share my next restoration project. It's a sad little Philco Model 45 that needs quite a bit of help. Normally I would do the chassis first, but winter is approaching and I'm gonna knock out as many cabinets as I can this fall. Here it is..

As you can see, it has some old glue caked into the slots. Anyone got any ideas on how to get it off the wood?

One more thing... I don't create these threads to show you I am the forum expert on refinishing. Actually, it is the opposite.. I'm no expert at all. My goal is simply to encourage everyone to try their hand at repairing and refinishing cabinets. Hey, if a guy named Puhpow can get decent results, so can you!

The artist formerly known as Puhpow! 8)

Now, I'd like to see how you replicate the louvers in the top plus the two raised bars in the top. (It looks like someone removed the original cabinet top and installed a plain piece of wood in its place.) Good luck!

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

ohh sounds like a challenge to me Icon_e_surprised

heheh.. it sure does!.. I've been asking myself those same questions. I'm trying to find good photos of a 45, so I can decide the next move.

Hi All;
PuhPow, I want to Thank You for the picture, I at least now know what knobs my Radio would take..
THANK YOU Marty

I agree with Ron, I think that is exactly what happened, the original top came off, or suffered some other damage, so someone put a piece of thin plywood in it's place. The original may have been laminated too but thicker, and it had a tongue to fit into the groove on each side, the grooves that have since broken away. That cabinet needs a little more help then some wood filler and lacquer can offer on short notice. I would work on something else first that doesn't need so much reconstructive surgery.
Regards
Arran

Nahhh.. I'm not shy. The new top will be created this week. Stay tuned...