Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

1st radio ever, Philco 37-640 restoration (DONE)

Hey all,

This is my first radio restoration and I wanted to share.
I have been restoring furniture for 15 years but never touched a radio and boy is it different with all the grain filling and toning.

Here is my radio:

Attached Files Image(s)

So I have been working on cutting away the old veneer and stripping the cabinet with #0000 steel wool and lacquer thinner.

Coming along slowly:

Ill skip the clamping since there was like 6 different gluing pics:

I am now up to matching the veneer:

That console looks like a challenge but definitely one that you seem to have the upper hand on. Your experience in furniture restoration will sure be valuable here. Keep the pictures coming! Nice job so far.

Craig R.

Well I have finished veneering the sides, curve, and top.
I sanded and spot stained to match the colors. I have gotten them close but the toner will fill in the rest of the color.

This one should have been more angled but after I lightened it a little it matched better:

But why use large rectangular patches with square edges ? No matter what you do to it finish wise that straight line joint with the old veneer will always show, since it's perpendicular to the grain. When you have that much veneer damage sometimes it's better to strip the remains of the old veneer off and start over.
Regards
Arran

Yeah I was going to but I wanted to keep it as original as possible. It was only 11 " high and the cabinet side is 46" high. I grain filled the cabinet yesterday morning early:

I could not sleep last night so I got to toning and sanding. She is looking much better today and you cant see the repairs. I used perfect brown and walnut toners.
Now all I have to do it give her a light #0000 sanding and get her under 3 coats on Mohawk clear lacquer.

Thanks for the comments Craig, I will update the post as I get the work done. May be a few days since I have furniture work to do.