Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Dropping net

HI All
For years I have had a local transmitter, transmitting Old Time Radio 24/7. Icon_smile I use winamp and it would drop the connection about once or twice a week. Now all of sudden it drops every 10 or 15 minutes. I have to go and click on the play button. Icon_mad . I am not a computer expert, any ideas?? Icon_confused
Joe

Joe Bratcher near Louisville, KY

Hi Joe

(Great to see you and your son Tim last weekend, by the way.) Icon_wave

How old is the computer you use to supply the audio to your transmitter? Does it have adequate memory (RAM)? Are any other programs running at the same time as Winamp?

That said, I have noticed lately that every once in a while, Winamp will crash on the computer I am using to play 1950s music through my SSTRAN, leaving it broadcasting only a dead carrier until I discover I am off the air and restart Winamp. I am using a 2007 vintage Compaq PC that runs Vista, and only will take 2 GB RAM max (which it has). I am thinking about switching to another older computer I have, an HP that has 4 GB RAM, and switching to Windows Media Player instead of Winamp.

And I did not have this problem before we moved.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Just out of curiosity, how do you do this? Do you have a large library of music on your computer that you build into playlists, or do you stream from the web, or other? I've streamed Pandora to my SSTRAN, but I haven't tried playlists yet.

John Honeycutt

I think Joe is using an internet stream for his audio source.

And that just made me think - I wonder if your (Joe's, that is) internet provider is throttling (limiting) your bandwidth? Some ISPs are doing that these days, especially since the Net Neutrality rules are no longer in effect.

As for me, I am running a playlist of tunes which are on my computer, so no internet connection is needed for what I am doing.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Streaming music does not require huge bandwidth.