Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

It's getting more complicated, LOL radio+clock+lamp+?

Ok so I have been collecting radios for 8 months or so. I started with philco radios and then 3-4 months late I found something wonderful!
Philco clock radios Icon_mrgreen
I have a bunch of them now since I collect and restore clocks so a clock and a radio together is like a slice of heaven...

Well it has gone one step further. I recently found these:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Philco-Transiton...true&rt=nc

I love this idea and want them for the lights in my library. I used to do lamp repair so I can most likely fix those that are in poor condition.

Anyone have these?
are they good players?
Does anyone know what shades are most original to use?
Does anyone have extra parts or lamps they want to sell? Icon_mrgreen

Times I have been electrocuted in 2021
As of 1/01/2021
AC: 4 DC: 1
Last year: 6

From looking at the photo, the big problem is going to be restoring the photo finish on the cabinet. I would imagine it might be hard to find one in perfect condition.

The artist formerly known as Puhpow! 8)

I agree with Jamie. By the 1950s, Philco radios had become very cheap (quality-wise). That photofinish would present quite the challenge.

I saw a 1960 Philco hi-fi in a junk store recently - an H-1616.

http://www.philcoradio.com/gallery/1960.htm#u

I was interested until I saw the condition of the lid - definitely photofinish, and very rough. Even though it was only $25, I passed.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

http://philcoradio.com/phorum/showthread.php?tid=8915

Photo finish is not a problem, I just have to restore one good side on the computer and then make a copy for the other 3 sides on a contact or vellum. A little glue and Tada! new photo finish.

( sounds easy, Icon_lolIcon_lol )

As of 1/01/2021