Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Not very happy with the photofinish

I posted about the new photo finishes last month and put one on. I am now changing my mind a bit. The thing is not sticking, it is too thick, the corners are curling and even with glue it is not right. Looks much better than it did but it is becoming too much work. the decals need to be thinner and have better adhesion. Even with lacquer over it it is still causing issues...

Anyone buy one and put it on yet? Maybe I did something wrong.
I dont want to bash the guy since he is doing a lot to support the hobby but I want to be honest too.

Kirk

Times I have been electrocuted in 2021
As of 1/01/2021
AC: 4 DC: 1
Last year: 6

Is it paper or plastic/vinyl like a roll of contact paper?

I always thought (strictly speculatively - I have no experience in cabinetry) that the best way of doing this would be having something like decals - very thin layer of printed image, without thick paper substrate.
Then you could cover it with lacquers etc.
If one uses paper, unless it is very thin, it will try to create rigid corners, separate etc.
And self-sticking type like labels to me is simply not going to work well.

Again, strictly imaginatively. Perhaps people know how to make these work.

It is a plastic and is much thicker than a decal. I agree Mike, it should be thin but would most likely rip due to the size.

As of 1/01/2021

I wonder if at some point someone could come up with this process:

Put the foundation right on the wood/plywood used for the cabinet, that is guaranteed not to crack etc and that one could print/paint upon.
Then come up with some process to print right on this foundation on the plywood. Print any pattern you like, directly in colour.
Then you lacquer it and such.