Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average

42-380

Hi Folks,

I have a 42-380 (who doesntIcon_biggrin). I am a newbie, and once had Ron do a 41-608 for me (still going strong..)

I recently finished repairing a Delco 3205 (32 volt) and taught myself a few things about working on a tube radio. I have Delco 32 volt generators, hence the interest....

NOW, getting on with it...I am working on this 42-380. I was given one, and after taking out the chassis, guess that the electrolytics went, shorted out the xformer, and nearly caused a small fire in it. Suffice to say good for parts. I got another chassis and after cleaning the tube pins, sockets, and double checking for obvious problems have powered it up successfully, and all tubes are OK, and I have 60hz hum, if I probe the vol switch. After poking around some more, I find that the screw adjustment on this rf can is all the way up. I discovered that if I touch that screw with a finger, I get a buzz as if its trying to use me for an antenna, but no stations come in.

I will put new electrolytics in and recap for the first time. By doing so , do you think I'll be closer to a working radio?

Thanks for putting up with a dumb question.Icon_mrgreen

Without doing so you will be as far fom working raio as ever.
No doing it is bad.
Doing it is good.
Do it.

Why does that IF can act as if I'm the antenna when touched?

Is it usually the electolytics that prevent it from recieving stations?. The Audio output acts OK, or I would not have heard anything playing with volume, tone and touching the pins on the 41's.

trying to understand.....

Thanks!!

One has nothing to do with the other but without proper recapping you stand to incur a multitude of unrelated problems.