Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

37-610 Restoration
Smile 

Hello Everyone,
New member here and I wanted to thank you all for welcoming me aboard.  I had posted in the new members section yesterday and mentioned that I had just stumbled on to this very nice floor console. Please understand that although I've been an electronics tech for nearly fifty years, I have hardly any experience in restoring vintage radios.  So …. I'll get right to it.  Icon_smile 

First, please help me understand the model.  From what I can gather this is a 37-610J (picture is in my post from yesterday). It appears there are table radios with the same model with only the suffix changed.  Is that correct?

On to the simple stuff ….

[attachment=18275]

This dial lamp doesn't look right to me.  Someone spliced a wire with a #47 lamp and holder.  Can somebody here tell me what should go there or if this is correct.

Thanks,
Randy

oh, another quick question or two.  Can anyone provide the instruction manual for this radio?  If not, can you explain the function of the on/off control? There's on/off and then two additional stops.  Would this be some kind of tone select?

randal
check out the new library  section
http://philcoradio.com/library/

info
http://philcoradio.com/library/download/...l.%202.pdf

sam

Some day, and that day may never come, I will call upon you to do a service for me. But until that day, accept this justice as a gift
mafiamen2

>Can somebody here tell me what should go there or if this is correct.
It can but it's a repair. The original used a blob of rubber inside the holder that over time gets hard and brittle. This in turn make the bulb difficult to remove. Probably someone replaced the lamp assembly instead of rebuilding the original.

> Would this be some kind of tone select? 
Yes. All the way ccw is off, next is on and some bass boost, next disconnects the bass boost, adds treble cut last adds more treble cut.

GL

When my pals were reading comic books