Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

37-11 RF Unit schematic differs from my radio

Hello all, I'm new to radio restoration so i'm making a lot of rookie mistakes.  But I'm also learning a whole lot! I've been restoring a 37-11 and have been having some problems. As part of making sure I didn't incorrectly wire something, I've been tracing circuits. So far so good.  But the R.F. Unit schematic I have doesn't match with the circuitry of my radio.  I'm using the John F. Rider Models 37-10, 37-11 schematic.

Is there an more updated version?

So far I've checked all coils, transformers, and made sure resistors are all within spec or replaced. All wax caps and electrolytics are replaced.  All bakelite caps are checked or replaced.

It appears as tho there was two different code numbers, a code 121 or a 125. It would printed after the model number on the blue and white paper tag. Here are the service bulletins for both: 

https://philcoradio.com/library/download...%20268.pdf

https://philcoradio.com/library/download...20268A.pdf

Terry

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

Thank you so much for your help!

I've checked out the RF Unit and the documents you mentioned helped a great deal. Thank You.

All is well except for some hidden caps I needed to replaced and the R.F. Range 2 coil. Reference #33. I measure 65 ohms between pins 1 and 2 not 6.5 ohms. Please tell me that 6.5 ohms is a misprint. I'm afraid I'll need to find, or make a new coil.

Hello all,