Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 625B Assessment (UPDATE It works!)

I have purchased a Philco 625b at an antique store. The cabinet is in great shape, the chassis is complete and looks unmolested as far as I can tell. Since this is my first antique radio to restore, I need some guidance. I have attached some photos for your amusement. I mainly want to restore this radio for my own use from time to time in my library. I am a bit of a perfectionist, so doing it right is important to me. I also want to learn as I go, as I really enjoy working on radios and electronics in my retirement.

As I stated in my phorum introduction, I have some experience working with tube radios, but not much, and certainly not with anything this old. My questions right at first are how far should I go... Strip the chassis, re-paint and do a complete rewire, or should I test the set first to see what if anything is working? I have a variac and I can slowly apply power to check for smoke. I do of course plan on replacing the caps and so forth during the rebuild.

My next question is the cloth covered chassis wiring. Most of it still looks reasonable for it's age. If necessary I can replace all of the wires with either modern wire, or purchase some cloth wire from Radio Daze. What would you do?

Last question for now is if you just brought this radio home, what would be your very first steps? I have the schematics and literature already. I am ready to order the replacement caps and any other parts I may need.

Any guidance and advice would be very much appreciated!
Thanks! Bud - KI5OMM

Attached Files Image(s)

The chassis WAS molested a bit. The tubular electrolytics are not original.

1. No. Do not strip the chassis.
2. Do NOT test the set.
3. Do not replace the cloth covered wire unless frayed or in abd shape overall.

My recommendations (actuially, my routine, which works just fine):

- Remove all tubes, use a variac and test the transformer outputs (Hi-V and filament(s)).